Cropping out the Sadness

I have been in Germany now for just about a month now, although it feels much longer. I don’t believe in labeling things as either good or bad, they just are, however, I can see the duality of this sort of thing. It’s great because I’m falling into the routine of the family but also time is moving rather slowly. I could almost swear it was 2 months ago I was waving farewell to my family at the O’Hare security gate.

I know precisely where this time moving at the speed of molasses feeling is coming from and it’s due to my lack of hobbies here, inability to clearly communicate with people and that the mean age of my friends is 10. That’s okay though; traveling alone has given me an opportunity to perfect the art of selfies. Always the optimist, I am.

Image

I’m enjoying the ability to explore Salzburg on my own and on my own time. I have experienced too many excursions abroad that have gone awry because of differing interests, clashing personalities and different expectations of a trip than your travel partner. The word Gemutlichkeit, is an Austrian concept about savoring the moment with a warm, friendly feeling; and of that I am master. Fueling up my introvert’s battery I am acutely aware of my surroundings, which for me, is the best way to travel.

Here are some pictures I snapped around Salzburg the other day!Image

Image

Image

Image

Leave a comment